Monday, February 06, 2017



Displacement in strata of the same rock take place , either vertically or horizontally. Such offset of geological structure are called faults. Such movement can be either slow slip, which produces no ground shaking or sudden rupture, which result in perceptible vibrations which result in earthquake.

Fault displacement is classified into three types:

  • Normal fault
  • Strike - slip fault
  • Reverse fault

Normal Fault: 

                       When the rock on that side of the fault hanging over the fracture slips downward, below the other side. The dip of a normal fault vary from 0 to 90. 

Reverse Fault: 

                         The hanging wall of the fault moves upward in relation to the bottom.

Strike Slip Fault: 

                          Faulting that causes only horizontal displacements along the strike of the fault.